
 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                       February 14, 2024  
 
NORTH CAROLINA ABC COMMISSION HOLDS REGULAR MEETING  
 
RALEIGH – The North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Commission held its 
regular monthly meeting on Wednesday, February 14th, 2024, and ratified 71 hearing 
cases that resulted in penalties in excess of $84,250 and/or imposition of suspensions of 
permits for three days or more. Fines are due on or before March 8th, 2024, and 
suspensions begin March 15th, 2024.  
 
Chairman Bauer shared a reminder that the ABC permit renewal and registration 
period is quickly approaching. Permittees will begin receiving payment instructions by 
mail this month. The online payment portal opens on February 19th and the deadline 
is April 30th each year. Anyone with questions should reach out to the Permits section 
at Permits@abc.nc.gov. 
 
The Commission approved an exemption request pursuant to §18B-1116(b) for 
Larema Beverage Company, LLC; Larema Coffee Houses, LLC; and Kevin 
McLaughlin.  
 
The Commission approved an Ineligible Permittee Waiver Request Pursuant to §18B-
900(a) for Xin Lin of Wafu Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar. 
 
The Commission ratified that all rules in NCAC Title 14B, Chapter 15, Subchapter C 
are necessary as part of its initial determination for the mandatory rules review 
pursuant to §150B-21.3A. There will be a 60-day comment period expiring on April 
19th, 2024.  
 
As part of other business, the Commission granted a stay for 60 days on a hearing 
officer’s order in the wine franchise matter of Sour Grapes, LLC v. Vinum USA, Inc. 
 
The Commission amended a final agency decision issued for M and A Store Inc. as 
part of the January 2024 meeting to reduce the penalty from $5,500 to $5,000. 
 
The Commission moved into a closed session with legal counsel to discuss 
confidential personnel matters and litigation pursuant to §143-318.11.  
 
The Commission confirmed the next monthly meeting will be held at the NC ABC 
Commission (400 E Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610) on Wednesday, March 13th, 
2024, at 10:00 am.  
 
  
ABOUT THE NC ABC COMMISSION  
North Carolina is one of 17 states to regulate alcohol through a control system. Since 1937, the 
North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission has provided regulation and control over the 
sale, purchase, transportation, manufacture, consumption and possession of alcoholic beverages in 
the state of North Carolina. http://abc.nc.gov.  
 
MEDIA CONTACT  
Jeff Strickland 
919-632-4828 
Jeff.Strickland@abc.nc.gov 

mailto:Permits@abc.nc.gov
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_18B/GS_18B-1116.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/enactedlegislation/statutes/html/bysection/chapter_18b/gs_18b-900.html
https://www.ncleg.gov/enactedlegislation/statutes/html/bysection/chapter_18b/gs_18b-900.html
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_150b/GS_150b-21.3A.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_143/GS_143-318.11.pdf
http://abc.nc.gov/
mailto:Jeff.Strickland@abc.nc.gov

