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The North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission is an 
independent agency housed in the NC Department of Public Safety with a 
direct report to the Governor’s Office. The Commission provides uniform 
control over the sale, purchase, transportation, manufacture, consumption 
and possession of alcoholic beverages in the state.

State law allows local jurisdictions to hold public referendums and/or 
approve local laws or regulations on alcohol sales.

There are municipalities, portions of counties and one entire county in the 
state remaining dry.

In 1937, the North Carolina General Assembly enacted an Alcoholic Beverage 
Control bill that allowed voters in each county to determine whether or not 
spirituous liquor should be sold at retail. Once approved by the local voters, 
the Act allowed for a local ABC board to operate retail stores. The Act also 
established a State ABC Commission to have oversight authority with respect 
to each local ABC Board. As a result of this Act, there are 168 active local ABC 
Boards in the state as of the end of FY 2018.

$1,068,773,846
FY 2017 Revenue

From 2004 through 2015, the North 
Carolina ABC system has generated 
more than $8.6 billion dollars in revenue 
and distributed more than $3 billion to 
state and local governments.

 AGENCY   HISTORY

   WET and DRY COUNTIES

General Fund (72.4%)

County - City Distributions (17.6%)

NC ABC & ABC Distribution 
Center (4%)

NC distributes the majority of the net revenue from the sale of spirits into seven categories:

Local Alcohol Education (2.9%)

Local Law Enforcement (2%)

Counties - Rehabilitation (0.7%)

Department of Health and 
Human Services (0.4%) Figures are from  2017

Population 21 and over
(Estimate) (2014) 7,100,000

 NET REVENUE

72.4% 17.6%

4%

2%

2.9%

0.7%

0.4%

  ENFORCEMENT
Various agencies are responsible for the enforcement of ABC laws and Commission rules in North Carolina. 

Alcohol Law Enforcement (ALE), housed in the State Bureau of Investigation at the Department of Public Safety, is the lead enforcement agency for the state’s alcoholic beverage 
control laws. ALE’s 109 sworn special agents are authorized to investigate, arrest, and take enforcement action for any criminal offense with territorial jurisdiction throughout the 
entire state. 

Local ABC Boards also have the option to hire an ABC law enforcement officer, or contract to pay its enforcement funds to a sheriff’s department, city police department, or other 
local law-enforcement agency, for the enforcement of ABC laws (18b-701).

In addition to criminal laws, businesses who sell alcoholic beverages under a permit from the Commission are subject to administrative rules that regulate those products and the 
locations at which those products are sold. Violations of criminal law is a matter presided over by the criminal courts, whereas violations of administrative rules may result in actions 
such as fines, penalties, suspensions, or revocations against a business that holds a permit.

To help ensure that all businesses fully comply with the alcohol laws and regulations, the Commission offers training classes year-round, at no cost, through their Responsible Alcohol 
Seller/Server Program (RASP). During this course (in person and on-line) permittees learn about preventing sales to underage and intoxicated persons, hours of sale, acceptable 
forms of identification, fake IDs, employee age requirements, and dram shop laws.



Local ABC boards operate retail stores while the 

state Commission manages wholesale distribution 

of spirituous liquor and oversight of local ABC 

boards. Beer and wine is distributed by private 

wholesalers to retail businesses permitted by the 

Commission.

The NC ABC Commission doubled its warehouse 

space in 2011 and now operates more effectively 

in 400,000 square feet of space. For FY 2018, more 

than 6.1 million cases of liquor were received and 

shipped out to 168 local boards operating 430 

retail outlets.

Sources: 2018 Survey Database, State Alcohol Tax Rates (July 2018), Educational Awards Program Reports for 2016-2017, North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Commission, The Beverage Information Group’s 2018 Fact Book, Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS)
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NC ABC Commission is the wholesale distributor of spirits in the state. Local 

governments appoint members of ABC boards; local ABC boards operated 430 

stores that sell spirits at retail. Beer and wine are sold at other outlets, but liquor is 

exclusively sold at ABC stores.

North Carolina does not have policies that regulate the density of off-premise 
outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area

Jurisdiction does not allow the sale of spirituous liquor in convenience stores

Servers must be 18 years old and older to serve beer at on-premise outlets, and 
employees at off-premise outlets must be at least 16 with supervision of someone 
who is at least 18 to sell beer

The sale of beer and wine are permitted in grocery stores

Sunday sales after 10am are allowed in local jurisdictions that have approval

Keg registration is required

Beverage service training is voluntary in the state. However, training is mandatory 
for all new permit applicants

NORTH 
CAROLINA 

ABC 
COMMISSION 

IN ACTION

Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.
Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manufacturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second 
tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier). 
Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person. 
Wet and dry counties -- Wet jurisdictions are those that permit the sale of spirits, wine, or beer for on-premise and off-premise consumption. Dry jurisdictions prohibit some or all alcohol sales,  
whether on- or off-premise

  DISTRIBUTION   OUTLETS AND GROCERY STORES

  DEFINITIONS

Does jurisdiction allow 
direct shipping of wine? 

  

Tax per standard drink:     

SPIRITS: $0.084
WINE: $0.039
BEER: $0.058

YES

The Talk It Out campaign aims to: 
•     Raise awareness about the dangers of underage drinking (including the negative effects on a developing 
       brain) via multi-media advertising.

•     Encourage parents and caregivers to have (ongoing, open, and honest) conversations with their children       
       using direct community outreach.

•     Equip parents with effective tips and tools to start (and sustain) these important conversations through the  
       TalkitOutNC.org website.


