
ABC SPECIAL ONE TIME PERMIT CHECKLIST (FOR SALE OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES)

The North Carolina ABC Commission is dedicated to providing excellent customer 

service to the citizens of our great State and understands the necessity of receiving 

ABC permit(s) in a timely manner. This checklist, designed specifically for the above 

referenced permit, will assist in navigating through the Special One Time Permit for 

Sale of Alcoholic Beverages Application process to ensure you have provided the 

necessary documentation for a complete packet. To facilitate this process, please 

submit the documents in the order listed, without any omission, as that will result 

in a delay of processing your application. 

• APPLICATION

o Must be completed in its entirety by a representative of the nonprofit organization

o Must be signed and notarized

o Notification to Law Enforcement Section must be completed

• LEASE/RENTAL AGREEMENT

o Nonprofit or Political Organization, must be listed as the tenant (for municipalities,
a letter acknowledging the event, date, time, and location is required)

o Address of leased premises must be included

o Dates and times for usage of leased premises must be included

o Must be signed by all parties

• DIAGRAM

o Detailed diagram of the leased premises showing all entrances, exits, bar areas,

and where all alcohol consumption will be served/sold
• TAX DETERMINATION DOCUMENT (for non-profit organizations only)

o Copy of the nonprofit organization’s 501c tax determination letter from the IRS or

Department of Revenue showing the organization is exempt from taxation, or

o Documentation to show the organization is exempt under similar provisions of

Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes

• POLITICAL ORGANIZATION DOCUMENT (for political organizations only)

o Documentation to show the organization has filed a notice of candidacy, paid the

filing fees or filed the required petition, and has been certified as a candidate

• PURPOSE AND RECIPIENT OF FUNDS STATEMENT

o Written or typed statement explaining the purpose of the fundraiser and the

recipient of any funds raised

• CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK

o Certified copy of criminal record check obtained from the clerk of courts office in

the county in which the individual representing the organization or candidate

resides

o If you are unable to obtain a criminal record from the Clerk of Courts office,
please contact the Permit Section at (919) 948-7941

• CORRECT FEE FOR PERMIT

o Certified check, cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $50.00
o Payable to NC ABC Commission

o If paying by credit card, complete credit card form (Visa, MasterCard, Discover)



NORTH CAROLINA 
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APPLICATION FOR SPECIAL ONE-TIME PERMIT 
FOR THE SALE OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

Application Instructions: 
1. Complete this application in its entirety. Please print clearly.
2. Application must be notarized.
3. The fee for the Special One-Time permit is $50.00. The fee can be submitted by certified check, cashier's check, money order or

credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover). The certified check, cashier's check, and money order must be made payable to the
North Carolina ABC Commission (may be abbreviated as NC ABC).
PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED AND THE APPLICATION WILL BE RETURNED.

4. The applicant must notify local law enforcement of the event taking place in their jurisdiction. A representative of the
Local Law Enforcement agency must complete the appropriate section on this form before submitting to the Commission.

5. A Special One-Time permit is issued for one event and cannot be used for multiple events.
6. The completed application must be submitted at least fourteen (14) days prior to the scheduled event.

I hereby make application to the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission for a Special One-Time permit allowing the sale 
or service of alcoholic beverages at the event described below: 

Please check the applicable boxes regarding your organization and event: 
We are a:   Nonprofit Organization Political Organization / Candidate Municipality 

Requesting authorization to: Sell Serve Permit Brown-bagging 
(Check all that apply) 

At a ticketed event, the following: Malt Beverages Wine Spirituous Liquor 
(Check all that apply) 

The following documents are required in addition to the completed application: 
1. Lease or rental agreement between the applicant organization and the owner of the premises.
2. Diagram of the leased premises showing all entrances, exits, bar areas and where all alcohol consumption will be served/sold.
3. If a nonprofit organization, documentation to show the organization is exempt from taxation under the appropriate subsection of 

Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code or is exempt under similar provisions of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes.
4. Purpose Statement for the event and recipient of the funds raised.
5. Certified copy of the criminal record check of the applicant obtained from the Clerk of Court in the county where the applicant resides.
6. A political party, as defined in NC General Statute 163-96(a)(1) or a campaign organization which has properly filed and has had a 

person certified as a candidate. 

Name Of Organization or Candidate: 

How are you affiliated with the organization? 

County where the event will take place:  City (if inside city limits): 

Event location name: 

Address of event location: 
Street Address City State Zip Code 

Date(s) of event: Estimated Attendance: 

Event times: Begin Time: End Time: 

Website and/or social media where event is promoted / advertised:  

Name of Person who will be present at the Event (if not the applicant): 

http://www.abc.nc.gov/


PERSONAL INFORMATION OF INDIVIDUAL REPRESENTING THE ORGANIZATION (OR CANDIDATE): 

Individual’s Full Name: 
First Middle Last 

Date of Birth: Last 4 of Social Security #: 

Residential Address: 
Street address City State Zip Code 

Mailing Address (If different from residential): 
PO Box / Street address City State Zip Code 

Contact Information: 
Daytime Phone # Mobile Phone # Fax # Email Address 

NOTIFICATION TO LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT: 

Date: 

Name / Title of Officer (Printed) Signature of Officer 

Department of Officer Telephone # Email Address 

Comments: 

It is a crime to make a false statement to obtain an ABC Permit. 

I CERTIFY UNDER OATH OR AFFIRMATION THAT: 
 I am not less than 21 years of age.
 I have not been convicted of a misdemeanor controlled substance offense or alcoholic beverage offense within the past

two (2) years.
 I have not been convicted of a felony within the past three (3) years, and if convicted of a felony before then, I have had

my citizenship restored.
 I have not had an alcoholic beverage permit revoked within the past three (3) years.
 All of the information supplied by me in this application is complete and accurate.
 I understand that ABC law prohibits any type of gambling activities or equipment upon the licensed premises (without

a Gaming permit issued by ALE).
 I, or my agent, will personally supervise the sale of alcoholic beverages and abide by all ABC laws.
 I understand that failure to abide by the ABC laws may result in the immediate revocation of my privilege to sell/serve 

alcohol.

Signature of Applicant 

Day Month Year 
Sworn to and subscribed before me this the 

My Commission Expires:  
Notary or other person qualified by law to administer oaths

(NOTE: MUST BE STAMPED OR SEALED BY NOTARY) 

FORWARD THIS APPLICATION, FEE(S) AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO: 

If sending USPS, Express Mail, FedEx or UPS:  As an alternative for US Postal Service (regular delivery): 

NC ABC COMMISSION 
400 EAST TRYON ROAD 
RALEIGH, NC  27610 

NC ABC COMMISSION 
4307 MAIL SERVICE CENTER 
RALEIGH, NC  27699-4307

Application for Special One Time Permit for the Sale of Alcoholic Beverages 12/2022

To be completed by an officer of the Sheriff's Office, if event is held in the County, or 
completed by an officer of the Police Department, if event is held in the City.



Visa MasterCard Discover

Exp. Year:

Credit Card Type:

Name on Card: 

Card Number: 

Exp. Month: 

CVC:

Name:

Amount charged ($):

Signature: Date:

CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION FORM

CARDHOLDER INFORMATION

By signing this document, I authorize The North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission to charge 
my credit card for the specified amount. 
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